23
Aug
07

Hanging Out

Our property is blessed with Gray Treefrogs (Hyla versicolor) as seen above.  They love to hang out on our siding to eat what the Orb Weavers leave behind.  The one above was taking a peek into the downstairs bathroom… cheeky.  We also have Northern Leopard Frogs (Lithobates pipiens, previously Rana pipiens).  In fact a rather large Northern Leopard Frog has taken up residence under my Greek Oregano.  I have a little cup that I inserted in the dirt flush to the ground and I periodically fill it up with our well water to help him out since he’s a bit far from the river across the street.  It is my understanding that they stray from the water areas after mating season so he’s been there for the whole summer.  I noticed my herbs faired rather well too – lucky me. 🙂


0 Responses to “Hanging Out”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…