15
Jul
07

Not a Fit

 

Yesterday we ended up missing the library… it closes at 4 p.m. on a Saturday – huh?  I really do live in a small town.  I haven’t had any new information to help me make any additional decisions.  Perhaps I’ll be able to go Monday.

I have come to an important conclusion about me.  As an adult certain styles of learning appeal to me.  This does not mean they’re best for Georgie.  Case in point, I love the Montessori principles.  I attended a public school that used the materials and applied the principles of Maria Montessori.  It was only after the school closed, due to low enrollment, that parents realized how fantastic our education had been there.  A very sad memory for me.  I hold a certain fondness for the materials I worked with during that time.

I believe I was using that personal experience and fond memory to sway me a bit.  But while I was at a playgroup this past Friday, a very good friend pointed out to me the reasons she didn’t like Montessori.  And Bingo – I realized they’re all the reasons I shouldn’t be using the Montessori principles for Georgie.  Some of the teaching materials will work and I’ll introduce some of them to him but overall it’s just not the right fit for him — the style is too strict too structured.  The more I look at different teaching styles the more I believe we’ll definitely be using an ecelectic approach and quite possibly move into unschooling.

4 Responses to “Not a Fit”


  1. 1 Trish
    July 15, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Rural Mama, I am also a rural Mama of three boys (7, 6, and 3). I just wanted to drop you a note about Montessori. I have all three boys in a Montessori school here in West Tn. Boys do VERY well in Montessori. It is not strict, structured, not not strict. I encourage you to do more research… The founders of Google.com (yes, both and they didn’t go to the same school), The Founder of Amazon.com, the creator of SIMS (video game), both Princes William and Harry (and their parents could send them ANYWHERE), The Youngest American Rhodes Scholar, Jackie Kennedy Onassis (again, could send her ANYWHERE), etc.

    My children LOVE the freedom of choice (within the structured curriculum). For instance, my oldest son is really into rocks, Egypt, Pyramids, Geology, etc. For math, they use rocks and pyramids to teach him the Montessori concepts of Math. Which really encourages his exploration more. My oldest is going into second grade and is testing at fourth and kindergartener is testing in second.

    Please do your own research and visit some schools. I am so BLESSED to have stumbled upon this educational methodology. Look at how all the public schools are opening charter and magnet schools and guess what they are… MONTESSORI. Also, there is a DVD out there for the Science behind the genius regarding Montessori Education. It is well worth the 90 minutes to watch.

    Good luck with your decision! I know how hard we are all trying to make the best decisions for our children and I’m sure you will! Take Care!

    Trish

    Thank you so much for your comment Trish. I misspoke. You made a great point, which I will correct in my original post… when I said strict I should have said too structured. I have done my research on Montessori and visited many local schools – we were in fact going to enroll Georgie in one this Fall. I think it is fabulous – just not totally for us after careful consideration. I will still be using some of the materials and applying some methodologies as we’re using an ecelectic approach. Thank you again for your thoughtful comment!

  2. July 15, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    Rural Mama,

    I have often considered Montessori to be a great way to unschool kids in a group setting. Not exactly unschooling, but just about as close as you can get when you have a 1:15+ adult-kid ratio.

    The cool thing is, you don’t have to stick with one method, or even have any particular method. You can create the “Rural Mama Family Method” that’s like no other.

    Good luck working your way to finding the method that works for you!

    Hi Tammy! Thank you for your comment. I love the “Rural Mama Family Method” hehehe… sounds like that’s what we’ll be aiming for this Fall.

  3. July 17, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Hey Rural Mama, I just read through your archives, and we have a lot in common you and I. Homeschooling/unschooling michigander toddler momma’s with the same birthdate!! 🙂 How cool is that?!

    That IS why I love the internet so much! I’ve been reading your blog for a short time but I really find your thoughts about living on a farm very insightful. We love Michigan – LOVE it. Sadly we’re trying to move out of state… 😦 So I’m not sure how long we’ll have that in common. It is very cool to know there are other like minded individuals out there. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  4. July 20, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Hi Rural Mama! Just stopping by to say hi and welcome you to the wonderful world of homeschooling! Your little Georgie sure is a cutie pie and I am sure whatever you put together for him will be great. I am using Montessori with my youngest because it is a good fit for her, but none of my others were schooled that way. With my son (almost 12 yo now) we pretty much do a combination of unschooling and project-based learning for the most part, with a little CM and unit-study thrown in for kicks. Whatever you do, have fun, read lots of good picture books, and enjoy your adventure!

    Hello Theresa and thank you for the welcome to HS. We’re really enjoying our summer and we’ve been talking about different subjects. Georgie is all for starting on Dinosaurs! I’m thinking child-led learning will be enjoyable for all of us.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


