13
Jul
07

Overwhelmed (Bad & Good)

I’m not sure what I want to do now.  Hahaha.  It’s amazing how one piece of information can lead to another piece of information and five hours later I’m even more undecided about Georgie’s curriculum.  I think we’ll be stopping by the library tomorrow to find out more.  I’ve also joined several different support groups through yahoo.com and I’m hoping that I will find the support I’ll be needing there as well.

Even so I have been pleasantly surprised by George, my husband.  The loudest protestor of homeschooling I’ve ever known.  I kept offering him more and more resources to look at over the past year and had decided that he was just not interested in hearing any other view.  He was one of those people that believed homeschooled children do not receive proper socialization skills.  Yes, one of those.  Now… well, now he’s all for homeschooling.  Friday night he told me that if homeschooling this Fall works out for us that he will back me up 100% to continue educating our son this way.  I nearly fainted.  Hahaha. 🙂

Research List (for the library):

  • Homeschooling Methods particularly Ecelectic and Unschooling
  • Kinetic Learning / Kinesthetic Learners
  • Preschool Activities
  • Playful Learning
  • Unit Studies
  • Preschool Curriculums
  • Early Education
  • Nature Studies
  • Creative Living
2 Responses to “Overwhelmed (Bad & Good)”


  1. July 14, 2007 at 9:09 am

    i’ve always like the idea of homeschooling, but not for us. does that make any sense?

    we do so much stuff — science projects, art projects, talking about algebra and calculus — already, i totally forget to do the basics. gah.

    you all just need to find the right balance for you. and have fun!

    Certainly. I think we’re going to try a more laid back approach like unschooling… we’ll see.

  2. 2 Housefairy
    August 2, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Maybe you could get your hubbie to come to one of the Homeschool Park Days and meet all the kids and then he could feel reassured that they are very “normal” (if thats a good thing!!!)

    Look forward to meeting you sometime,
    Tall Joy from the homeschool yahoo list
    Mama to Greta 10
    Mickey 7
    Casey 4
    Charlie 1 1/2


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

Zakuul Personal Dropship.jpg-large

But at least I get to go to China during part of the hottest and rainiest time of year...lol.

I guess this is as close as I'm getting to Greece this year.

More Photos
View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


