12
Jul
07

Homeschooling

We decided to start this Fall.  That way we’ll have a pretty good idea if it is right for our family.  I’m working on building a curriculum for Georgie that will allow for his kinetic learning style.  It is amazing what I’m finding online — lapbooks are awesome!  I also realized that almost all the books I picked-up during local thrifting this past year are on many recommended curriculums for language/art/math/science/social studies/health & safety units.  How did I catch that break?  Of course there are many books I’m still interested in procuring for him.

I’m hoping to have put the curriculum together before the end of July.  That way I can go over it with George and find out if there is anything he wants to include or exclude.  I’m excited!

3 Responses to “Homeschooling”


  1. July 12, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Congratulations and what an awesome undertaking for your family. I love thrift stores for adding to our library and I am often amazed at how many goodies we find and our local library sales are also a good treasure trove. 🙂

    Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! 🙂 Thrift stores have provided a wealth of materials for us. I appreciate the mention of local library book sales… I had forgotten what a great resource that can be.

  2. July 13, 2007 at 1:08 am

    Congratulations! It certainly is an adventure. The first year is the hardest, so don’t let yourself get discouraged if it starts out rough. It isn’t that way for everyone, but it is so tempting to try to run your home just like a school!

    Thank you for your advice. I’m looking forward to starting this adventure with my son!

  3. 3 Dawn Castro
    July 22, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Depending on where you live, state or country, look into Charter Schools. My kids are both taught through Charter Schools. Charter schooling is where the funds for the books and what not are provided by the public school district. Doesn’t mean that you have to teach your son that samething that the public schools are teaching, but the fund to buy the things you need for school comes from the school district. Less out of pocket expense. Our Chart group has learning centers where either your kids can go to school 4 days a week and learn what’s being taught in the public schools plus so much more and you don’t have to teach anything to your kids on your own. Or you can choose to take your kids to a learning center that has like elective classes 1 to 2 days a week. I think ecah Charter school does things different but it might be something to look into.
    I agree that the first year is the hardest. Just make sure you have a great support group since your starting out! Good Luck!

    Thank you, Dawn, for the information. Right now we’re definitely unschooling and we have a great support system to get us through the first year.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


