12
Jun
07

Almost Three

I know it has been a long time since I posted any thing about my son here.  We’ve had a bit of a rough road (speech issues, possible hearing issues and hyperactivity) and so I wasn’t feeling like documenting any part of it because it depressed me a bit.  And now he’s thirty-four months tomorrow and I can’t believe I haven’t kept up with his journal.  Sad. 

Here we are at the end of May at our favorite fishing spot.  This is a rare picture of us together because he is fiercely independent and doesn’t sit still for me.  I think I cajoled a smile out of him by saying we’d go get some ice cream – yeah, well… 

We recently had some observation time at a local Montessori school and decided to enroll Georgie this Fall.  I grew up learning in a Montessori environment and felt since we seem to have the same learning style, he would benefit from the children’s house.  I couldn’t get him to leave the room, so I took that as a good sign that he is ready and willing.  We’re still undecided about whether to put him in for just the half day program or the full day program.  As a mama not yet willing to let her babe out of her sight I feel like the half day program is better for our little family but I don’t want to be selfish.  Then again I don’t feel like more than three hours a day would be beneficial for Georgie.

Stats: Height 40″ | Weight 42.5 lbs. | Developmental Milestones – on track except for speech.  We’re working on making him use his words to identify his needs, etc.  It’s hard when I see him fishing and about his other interests, Georgie is so involved with the task at hand that it is hard to believe he doesn’t talk as much as his peers.  We’re being patient and we hope that this Fall will help.  In the meantime we’ll be enjoying a lot of fishing and outdoor activities as a family.

1 Response to “Almost Three”


  1. June 12, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    Miss S went to a montesorri school for about 18 months (until we could no longer afford it) and she loved it and made so much progress while she was there.

    Yes, the cost is a bit prohibitive but after some careful research in the area it will only end up costing us $50 more a month to send him to a Montessori preschool instead of a mainstream one. Now as he advances through the different levels that does change, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

Zakuul Personal Dropship.jpg-large

But at least I get to go to China during part of the hottest and rainiest time of year...lol.

I guess this is as close as I'm getting to Greece this year.

More Photos
View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


