26
Dec
06

My two Christmas Blessings

 

Christmas growing up was always exciting and magical for me. Some how it lost its meaning after moving away from family in 2000. I found it really difficult to enjoy the holiday, enjoy my family while visiting, and enjoy the festivities.

Since Georgie was born I’ve noticed a small change in my attitude about the holiday and I think my husband has changed a bit too. It isn’t about how many people remember us during the holiday – it’s how many people we remember. It was difficult… until this year.

The most amazing thing happened to me on Christmas morning. As I sat among Georgie’s wrapping paper and ribbons watching him get excited over his gifts from Santa Claus… I felt moved and I suddenly told my family, “Uncle Bruce wishes everyone a Merry Christmas!” Then I cried. I felt this huge burden lift from me and I knew… knew that I had received a small blessing from my dear departed Uncle. I remembered – I remembered the magic and love.

So yes, I’m truly blessed. My folks are living with us. I know they enjoy being so close with their grandson. I know he benefits from the extra support and love he receives daily. My husband is on the road to better health as am I. He sacrifices so much during the week for us… to live so far away and miss so much – that is love. To see him every weekend is amazing and I love him all the more for sacrificing his days off for us. I know our little life isn’t perfect but it’s our little life that we have together… remembering all that is important.

I’m hopeful and optimistic that the new year will see the sale of our home in Michigan and a new home in Illinois, so we can all be together in one place.

3 Responses to “My two Christmas Blessings”


  1. 1 babybug
    December 27, 2006 at 8:49 pm

    hi dawn,
    i’m so glad you had a nice christmas with your family. i love the pic of geo and georgie.
    babybug has sure made christmas brighter for me! the excitement and magic you see in their eyes is so wonderful.
    wishing you a great new year!
    lotsa hugs from me and babybug.
    p.s. love your tree in the background.
    p.p.s. hey, just realized you were myactually my first blogging friend 🙂

  2. December 29, 2006 at 3:13 pm

    i am hoping for the sale of your home as well, so you all can live under one roof again.

    (and, hey, you use wordpress. wanna be my mentor? i’m over here cussing A LOT.)

  3. January 2, 2007 at 8:21 am

    What a sweet photo and a warm post. So glad you had a nice Christmas with a sprinkling of magic in there! I hope you all can live together soon too. That has to be really rough.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

Zakuul Personal Dropship.jpg-large

But at least I get to go to China during part of the hottest and rainiest time of year...lol.

I guess this is as close as I'm getting to Greece this year.

More Photos
View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


