23
Mar
06

TILT: Flower Frogs

If you read MSL or CL you’re probably familiar with flower frogs.  Or maybe you’ve seen them at tag sales, flea markets, thrift stores, etc.  They’re used in flower arranging.  Most glass or art pottery houses made matching flower frogs for their bowls and vases.  They came as a matching set.  Rarely do you find them this way today.

I like the plain ceramic, glass, and wire ones. I have this thing for circles – I’m not sure what that says about me.  It’s hard to find them cheap anymore… even the plain ones.

At one point in my collecting endeavors I was going to find as many clear glass flower frogs as possible to create a wall of glass.  Did I mention how expensive these things are now?

My prize flower frogs are the ceramic ones.  I love the glazes – probably my inner ceramicist coming out.

These aren’t my full collection.  I believe I have five or so hiding out in the rest of the house.  I’ll have to gather them up and put them in the cabinet until I can figure out a better way to display them.  At one point I wanted to hang them all up on a wall and couldn’t come up with a successful solution to hanging them.

4 Responses to “TILT: Flower Frogs”


  1. March 23, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    Wow! That’s quite a collection. Beautiful. I love those frogs too. I only have a few clear ones though. Do you ever use them?

  2. March 23, 2006 at 11:40 pm

    I do, but only the clear glass ones. I have two wire ones in bad shape – not pictured here that I use as well. They’re great. 🙂

  3. March 24, 2006 at 1:29 am

    Amazing collection!

  4. March 26, 2006 at 8:03 pm

    Wow! I have never been able to find one at all, I’m so impressed you have a large collection.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

Zakuul Personal Dropship.jpg-large

But at least I get to go to China during part of the hottest and rainiest time of year...lol.

I guess this is as close as I'm getting to Greece this year.

More Photos
View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


