12
Mar
06

Is It Time for Talking?

I’ve been noticing that he is on the verge of speaking in more than one word sentences or even adding to his very small vocabulary. George likes to sign and at the same time is a very lazy signer. I’ve taken to asking him what he wants more and more until he relents and either points at it or signs if he can’t say the name. I can tell he wants to verbalize the name. He tries so hard.

I feel like I’m narrating a movie for most of the day as I tell George everything I’m doing in hopes he’ll pick something up. I know that all children develop differently yet somehow I feel we’ve failed him in this part of his development as we’re fast approaching his second birthday. Do we spend enough time communicating with him, asking him about things, telling him about things, reading, playing games that focus on recognizing objects, etc.? I think we do.

It might be that I feel some pressure from people that think he’s behind in talking – I feel like I’m always defending George’s right to develop and grow at his own pace.  This may also be due to the fact that most people think Georgie is three when in fact he is only going to be 19 months on the 13th.  Why is our society in such a hurry to make our children grow up?  Our pediatrician isn’t concerned, so why is everyone else?

7 Responses to “Is It Time for Talking?”


  1. March 12, 2006 at 9:47 pm

    My youngest son is 20 months and he just babbles. Our older son (just turned 4) was also a late talker.

    Seriously, do not be concerned. If you feel like George is still behind at 30 months, contact your local elementary school about a free screening for speech (they also do hear, vision and motor skills).

    Just relax — you’re not failing him at all. In fact, you’re doing a great job by letting him develop at his own pace.

    I’ve been where you are.

  2. March 13, 2006 at 12:40 am

    don’t worry, capello is right. babybug only babbles too and they are the same age! i knew georgie would love the giraffe. babybug carried the one i bought her around for a week. have a good monday 🙂

  3. 3 joy
    March 13, 2006 at 1:37 am

    Jaden didn’t say hardly anything until he was 3 years old, and then he exploded! He talks about EVERYTHING in the world now (at 4) and can almost read….so I don’t think you should worry.

  4. 4 lucimama
    March 13, 2006 at 12:08 pm

    Ditto ditto ditto. #2 son didn’t say much until well after his third birthday. And like joy said about her son, now mine is a talkin fool, and reading the names of his friends (he sees them everyday on their cubbies at daycare) and reading lots of The Cat in the Hat (nice repetition there makes it easier to recognize the words).

    Georgie is exactly where he should be, just as you are as his mama. I know it’s hard not to compare, but try not to judge yourself or accept anyone’s judgments of you or your lovely little boy.

    Namaste, friend.

  5. March 13, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    Boys tend to speak later than girls. Girls are the communicators, boys are the do-ers. I’m not trying to gender steriotype, it’s just the way it works. No worries, he’s probably fine. If you feel you have the fortitude, you can start ignoring his pointing and gesturing, which may force him into speaking. We mommies tend to be very intuitive where our children are concerned and will fill the need before the child even has to really speak or communicate that need. If you stop speaking as much and intuiting his needs, he may find that he has to use his words. It’s tough though. I don’t reccomend it if you don’t think it’s necessary. It’s hard to watch your little one get frustrated. My 4 year old still gets mad when I make her verbalise instead of gesture and grunt and I know she knows the words.

  6. March 13, 2006 at 8:22 pm

    I hate when people stick their noses in my parenting. They didn’t give birth to my kids. 😉 My oldest son took a lot longer to talk well than my youngest is taking. My stepdaughter took longer than both our boys. Every kid is different.

  7. March 14, 2006 at 1:37 pm

    Thank you all for your encouragement. I wasn’t worried until recently when I’d been getting so many comments then I thought – should I be worried? So yes, I know George is developing properly and that patience is key. I really appreciate the support. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


