03
Aug
05

Neighbors are Cool

I love living next to people that really do care about your well-being. Saying, “How are you?” and wait for an answer. I never thought I’d get use to it since I’ve been such an introvert for so long. It’s really nice and in my mind raises the value of living here.

Right now B. and I talk over the fence when we are both out in the evenings weeding our gardens because they’re side by side. She’s a little younger than my mother or maybe the same age. She’s a very sweet, gentle woman that I’m sure can be hard as nails when she wants to be.

B. is easy to talk to. She and K. have five kids that are extremely polite and respectful – that says a lot. I think she might be a little shy because she doesn’t always make eye contact – I’m the same way though so it might be me.

Tonight she offered to give me some plants – Yarrow, I think – to help with our outdoor ant problem. We talked about the Bindweed that is taking over the garden. I read that you have to pull it and destroy it for almost two years before you can eradicate it from your garden. That really sucks.

B. has sweet peas and pickling cucumbers growing on the fence. She always offers us anything on our side, which I think is really neat. I ate a cuke while we talked. They’re so sweet and tasty.

I asked about K. He’s the one that had an accident while helping us cut down our apple tree. He’s been out of work since July 10. Can you say ouch. I think we’re rather lucky that he had about 200+ hours of sick time saved up. K. has a check up tomorrow so I hope the doc gives him the ok to go back to work.

I can’t wait until we finally get the yard fenced in and I can have Georgie outside with me while I work. Right now I have to work at it on the weekends, during his naps, or during his bedtime. The only thing is Geo thinks we should put gates at the back for the neighbors. Normally I wouldn’t mind but I’m worried someone might inadvertently leave it open and the dogs will get loose. I’m sure there is a solution – I can’t think of one right now.

Otherwise I’ve been very happy with our neighbors. I hope they feel the same.

0 Responses to “Neighbors are Cool”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


