09
Jul
05

Note To Self (NTS): Las Vegas

A cross country trip to Las Vegas in September would entail crossing 2,077 plus miles of road. Is it worth it? George wants to fly. I think it would be too expensive and I’m not thrilled with the idea of flying with a 1 year old at this time.

Besides I’ve never driven across the US. I once had a marathon run to Florida from Illinois when I was 18 years old. Unfortunately my father believed that bodily functions could be put on hold for sixteen hours. That was the worst trip of my life and we blew through each state without pause. I did drive from Michigan to DC one year with two ladies that absolutely hated each other and made my life a complete hell. That trip was only ten hours long and we stopped three times.

I think driving cross country to Las Vegas would be fun. I want to do it leisurely and with a pop-up camper. The most we’d have to pay for would be gas, food, and inexpensive site rentals for the camper. I’m tired of giving up our vacation time to make marathon trips to visit relatives that wouldn’t say boo to us if we saw each other at the local market. If they want to see us then it’s going to be on our terms and at our pace. Period.

I’ve been looking at some interesting ways to cross the states. One way I thought would be interesting is going via the US-50 route. Or sometimes called the Loneliest Road. Most likely we would skip VA, WV, OH, and IN. We’d start with Illinois so we could drop the dogs off with my parents. Otherwise it would be IL, MO, KS, CO, UT, NV (where we would introduce our son to his paternal grandparents for the first time), and end in CA. Seven states in two weeks? It would be our first family vacation.

I’m sure there are other ways to get to Las Vegas. I’m still looking into it. Does anyone out there have any ideas or suggestions?

0 Responses to “Note To Self (NTS): Las Vegas”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


