24
Jul
07

Fishing Companion

During our fishing adventure this weekend we were lucky enough to see another great fisherman in action.  The Northern Water Snake (Nerodia sipedon).

 

The pictures are blurry because in my excitement I forgot I had it on soft focus.  The camera assumes that the nearest thing to the camera is what you’re focusing on, which was the grass.  But you can see the lovely Nerodia sipedon in the back there striking (and catching) the Bluegill (Lepomis macrochirus) I was reeling in to shore. 

The snake did not let go.  I pulled it ashore with the fish.  Gently laid the base of my fishing rod on the base of the snakes head and it let go.  The snake slithered back into the water, I released the Bluegill and it promptly snatched it up for dinner.  I don’t know who was more excited, Georgie or his daddy and me.  lol :)

2 Responses to “Fishing Companion”


  1. 1 gardenmomma
    July 26, 2007 at 6:32 am

    great pic’s! I would have been on the edge of my tacklebox…..

    I love snakes – caught them a lot in the field that was in the back of our townhouse while growing up. Georgie’s lucky in that respect… having a mama that will touch worms, snakes, bugs of all types is good for nature studies. lol. ;)

  2. July 29, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Whoa! That is really cool.

    It was cool — I love nature and how nature adapts to our intrusions.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to stop by and visit - you are always welcome here. I do my best to respond to you within your own comments on a post. This takes time. I try to plug away at a few things in between pulling my hair out and chasing down my three year old son. If you have a question or some pressing matter or even if you'd just like to strike up a little conversation... I can be reached via email at ruralmamaATcomcastDOTnet.

Snapshots...

The Magic of Red

Color at my Feet

Flower Power

More Photos
View my DNA at bighugelabs.com

Filed Under…


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

